Terrible Ethics at Urban Outfitters

I have never been a regular customer of urban outfitters but I have been in a few times and bought the odd product. However, I had no idea about their terrible ethics and beliefs. I was horrified to find that they have released products which have offended many cultures, they are against gay marriage and use provocative pictures of underage girls.

One of the T-shirts they released had a star which looked very similar to the star of david and the t-shirt resembled those which jewish people were forced to wear in Germany under the Nazi regime.

Image

They also released a T-shirt with the slogan “Eat Less” on it which was modeled by a very thin model. This T-shirt appears to glamorize eating disorders.

The CEO of Urban Outfitters is also openly against gay marriage. As well as recalling a T-shirt in their shops which had the slogan “I support gay marriage” on it he has also donated money to anti gay marriage foundations.

Image

I also find it disgusting that they used a photo of a 15 year old model without her consent on a shirt. This photo focused on the crotch area of the girl and the girl concerned sued Urban Outfitters for the use of this photo.

It is safe to say that I will never be shopping in urban outfitters again. I do not wish to give my money to a company so prepared to insult any culture or religion.

About ejane01

I am Emma. I like to think I have a good sense of humour and an outgoing personality. However, I study law at University which may contradict all of what I previously said.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

